Let’s Have Some Japanese If You Plea ese

It was too cold and rainy to work much in the garden today.  I did pick 3 zucchini and some scalloped squash along with about 3 heads of lettuce and some japanese cabbage and japanese bunching onion.

The CSA has received japanese cabbage in the last 2 shares and I’ve received good reports about how tasty it was so I was anxious to try it for myself.

So today I cooked up some japanese yam and made the japanese cabbage recipe suggested by Susie (one of my CSA customers who happens to also be an essential oil expert) on her website.  You can find her version here:

http://www.younglivingwithsusie.com/daily-blog/japanese-cabbage-salad?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+YoungLivingWithSusie-DailyBlog+%28Young+Living+with+Susie+-+Daily+Blog%29

My version was a bit different as I didn’t have all the ingredients that she used but I have to say it was pretty good and I wasn’t the only one who thought so as our 2,3 and 4 year olds all scarfed it down before they even ate the sweet potatoes.

I cut up my head of cabbage (which resembles pak choi and lettuce all in one)  into ribbons.  I then finely chopped some japanese bunching onions and added that to the mix.  I didn’t have sesame seeds (mainly because I am allergic to them) so I used pine flakes which I toasted up as well as some almonds, slivered.  Added equal amounts of olive oil and white wine vinegar, salt and some garlic and ginger, grated.  Put in about a tablespoon of some local honey fresh extracted this week and tossed it all together. The honey in the dressing tames the slight strong flavor of the cabbage and overall created a delicious salad that rivaled any lettuce salad I’ve ever eaten.

Thanks to Susie for the written recipe and also to a couple of other members of the CSA that had tried the cabbage and shared that it was tasty.

Japanese Red Sweet Potato and Japanese Cabbage Salad.

Japanese Red Sweet Potato and Japanese Cabbage Salad.

One response to “Let’s Have Some Japanese If You Plea ese

  1. Pingback: Still Winterizing | In The Organic Fanatic Garden Now

Leave a Reply

